Drill Peek

Options
Unknown
Unknown Active Partner
edited March 2020 in Idea Exchange

When navigating a grid dataset, we already have the option to make each cell a button. From that button, we can drill to a screen or protocol for more information. Doing so opens the target in either the same tab or a new tab, changing the focus to the new screen.  I think it would be nice to provide a peak tool, such that hovering the mouse over a cell would provide a thumbnail size image of the target screen, visualization or layout. We already have the ability to define tooltips, but they must live within the same layout. A peak tool would provide a user the ability to see more rich visualizations or layouts without having to change their current focus. Maybe this is already a feature, but I just don't know how to do it. If that's the case, please let me know.

Consider this use case.

• As a lending manager, I'm looking at a grid of my product sales information over the past 12 months, as the monthly grain.
  • I think there may be some spikes in certain weeks of the month for certain metrics. I want to hover over the closing balance for December 2019 and see a thumbnail chart like the following. This chart is at a lower grain than the current layout. Ideally, this could also be a thumbnail image of the target drillthrough screen.
  • Seeing this trend line, means there are no peaks and valleys. There is a downward trendline at the lower level of detail. begs the question, why is the trend declining? At this point, I'll use the drillthrough protocol to go to a screen with more information. The thumbnail, may have also shown there is no need for concern. In that case, I'll just stay on the same screen and continue reviewing the report.